Imperfections are perfect # atozchallenge

 

Once upon a time, there were two princesses, beautiful and perfect. They met their prince and lived a perfectly beautiful life….

Flash forward to today. I wake up in the morning and refuse to even look at the mirror. Why, you may ask. It is because I do not conform to society’s standard of beauty.I am fat, short and well, that is enough. I don’t get clothes my size and the assumption is that I really shouldn’t be bothered with fashion or I don’t care about how I look. Apple, Pear, Hourglass shapes are hoaxes to make you believe that they make clothes for different body types but nobody tells you that you need to be a really lean apple to find anything to wear.

The same standards seem to apply to all facets of our life.  Every part of you has to be in perfect proportion. You are meant to have the perfect body, the perfect house, the perfect life. Hell, even your children have to perfect.

There are today, millions of videos, seminars , magazine articles on how to be a perfect host, have a perfect house, the perfect body, be the perfect wife, daughter, mother, husband, father etc.

This has done nothing but create a whole community of people who feel guilty or inferior because they are different. You could be fat or skinny, short or too tall, but if you do not conform to the standards you would feel singled out and are considered an anomaly.

But who decides what is perfect? And why do we need to be perfect?

I finish this post with these questions because I don’t have the answers. All I know is that it is our imperfections that make us unique, foster creativity and push us to improve ourselves.

I would love to hear your views ……and maybe get some answers at the end of it.

This post is part of the A to Z challenge

 

 

2 thoughts on “Imperfections are perfect # atozchallenge

  1. I used to worry about the fact that I always looked kind of dumpy in the clothes I wore. Then I realized that I didn’t like what I was wearing. Despite advice from everyone, I started dressing the way I liked… crazy colors and patterns, Converse shoes. Voila! I looked better. A woman wearing a paper bag with confidence looks way better than a woman wearing silk with insecurity. Find your style and rock it. Imperfections are what make us interesting.
    Doree Weller

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I agree. Perfect is a myth!! There is no such thing…. perfection is only in the eye of the beholder….. Imperfection is what makes us unique and interesting!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

